Dump Load RIP

Power wheelchair board for REAL info!

POWERCHAIR MENU! www.wheelchairdriver.com/powerchair-stuff.htm

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby Burgerman » 21 Feb 2021, 10:07

Guess what - it works - i did add a cable loop - BUT - i dont think that was the issue to begin with

Well theres a "surprise" for you... I could have told you that 70 posts ago. And I did. Over and over and over.

And yes that was the issue originally. There isnt any other way! Physics doesent care about what you think you saw. Or what you think you remember. Watt meter is irrelivant and works fine both ways around it just wont read anything.

Try to understand that It can NEVER work without that link wire. Ever. End of. banghead Electricity isnt magic. It doesent flow without a connection. So there WAS a connection, on the inside or outside originally.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54275
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby expresso » 21 Feb 2021, 17:21

i dont think so - i agree with you only on the fact that - it has to be closed loop to work - and i agree that they must have been some connection unseen to me there before - -

BUT there was no CABLE connection on the outside loop there ever !! - Look at the pictures - do you see a cable wire looped on the outside ?

no - never was there - and it worked fine - means there was something else unseen to my eye on the rear connections that made it a closed loop

thats all it means - i just added the wire cable on the outside loop yesterday - it worked fine before for over a year - what does that tell you

70 posts ago if you listened to what i been saying - all you needed to say was - it cant work if not closed loop - and if it does as i say it did - means somewhere unseen to the eye something is keeping it closed - thats all you needed to say - and then guide me where to check etc, thats it - would have been 10 posts max - you enjoy it - :D and all the pictures you find of this item dont show any cable loop on the outside --

steve posted a link same thing - i dont see any cable on the outside looped ? your right but very wrong how your insist on explaining it and

you dont see things from other angles - a race horse has those eye covers on the side so they can only see one way and thats it

not calling your a horse now - if anything i say sounds bad - its not - i joke around - dont mean anything - good thing is - its working

you have the same one - you said yours didnt have a cable looped outside either ?
Quickie P222se - 60Ah ADD ON
Quickie S646se - 150Ah LifePo4
Quickie P220 - Indoor Chair
Bounder Plus - 180Ah LifePo4
expresso
 
Posts: 9631
Joined: 10 May 2010, 03:17
Location: NYC - NY

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby Burgerman » 21 Feb 2021, 18:57

BUT there was no CABLE connection on the outside loop there ever !!

I never said there was. And wouldnt have expected it to be on the outside. I suggested YOU put one there. Its easier to do.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54275
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby expresso » 21 Feb 2021, 19:06

off topic fora moment - cant find the section where it was said - i think it was Snaker or someone who made the APP for the Pl8 charging with graphs etc, ?

i went to use it - it had an update i did it -

but i couldnt get it start a charge - com 3 was fine - first i could get the presets to show up - i refreshed it - got it to show - i picked one but says no signal to charger - i couldnt start it

have anyone used it yet - did it work etc, maybe theres a bug that needs to be checked
Quickie P222se - 60Ah ADD ON
Quickie S646se - 150Ah LifePo4
Quickie P220 - Indoor Chair
Bounder Plus - 180Ah LifePo4
expresso
 
Posts: 9631
Joined: 10 May 2010, 03:17
Location: NYC - NY

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby Burgerman » 21 Feb 2021, 19:51

I would love to check it out. But not if it needs that godawful micosoft store virus installing! No way thats ever happening. So I cant test it. But its meant for a phone anyway. So theres not really any point on a PC anyway as theres more funcionality on the PL8s native PC software.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54275
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby expresso » 21 Feb 2021, 19:58

i dont think it was for a phone - i though that also -

its on my laptop PC - which i use for charging anyway - i was going to try it now that i am recharging my pack full from empty - but couldnt get it to start

wonder if anyone else tried it -
Quickie P222se - 60Ah ADD ON
Quickie S646se - 150Ah LifePo4
Quickie P220 - Indoor Chair
Bounder Plus - 180Ah LifePo4
expresso
 
Posts: 9631
Joined: 10 May 2010, 03:17
Location: NYC - NY

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby Burgerman » 21 Feb 2021, 20:06

It was intended for phone use and BT and was ported to the PC. But we already have a PC software thats more functional.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54275
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby steves1977uk » 21 Feb 2021, 20:18

It is a Store App BM, called PL8 Remote...

PL8R.jpg


Expresso, I think this App only works with Blutooth. I see it flashes the LED on the FUIM3 board but don't think it will connect.

Steve
User avatar
steves1977uk
 
Posts: 3318
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 21:47
Location: Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, UK

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby Burgerman » 21 Feb 2021, 20:20

If it works with BT it should also work with a real serial port or a USB serial port too. It should work.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54275
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby expresso » 21 Feb 2021, 20:29

i believe he said it works both ways - cable or BT -

have you used it yet ?
Quickie P222se - 60Ah ADD ON
Quickie S646se - 150Ah LifePo4
Quickie P220 - Indoor Chair
Bounder Plus - 180Ah LifePo4
expresso
 
Posts: 9631
Joined: 10 May 2010, 03:17
Location: NYC - NY

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby Burgerman » 21 Feb 2021, 21:22

I would love to check it out. But not if it needs that godawful micosoft store virus installing! No way thats ever happening. So I cant test it. But its meant for a phone anyway. So theres not really any point on a PC anyway as theres more funcionality on the PL8s native PC software.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54275
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby expresso » 21 Feb 2021, 21:26

has anyone used it yet ?
Quickie P222se - 60Ah ADD ON
Quickie S646se - 150Ah LifePo4
Quickie P220 - Indoor Chair
Bounder Plus - 180Ah LifePo4
expresso
 
Posts: 9631
Joined: 10 May 2010, 03:17
Location: NYC - NY

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby steves1977uk » 22 Feb 2021, 00:41

If it works with BT it should also work with a real serial port or a USB serial port too. It should work.


Just tried it, it doesn't detect any COM port. The FUIM3 does 3 quick LED flashes then stops. The connection box is empty, no ports are listed. CCS works fine though. Maybe I need to allow the device in the privacy settings. :fencing

Steve
User avatar
steves1977uk
 
Posts: 3318
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 21:47
Location: Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, UK

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby expresso » 22 Feb 2021, 00:52

it gets my Com port - gets my presets - but cant start the charge
Quickie P222se - 60Ah ADD ON
Quickie S646se - 150Ah LifePo4
Quickie P220 - Indoor Chair
Bounder Plus - 180Ah LifePo4
expresso
 
Posts: 9631
Joined: 10 May 2010, 03:17
Location: NYC - NY

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby snaker » 22 Feb 2021, 01:48

I am here :mrgreen:

I am sure it works with both BT and usb cable. At least on my PC and 2 laptops.

In the case that Steve saw the COM port but was not able to connect. It was probably that the PL8 Software was connecting to PL8 through the usb cable, therefore PL8Remote could not. So close PL8 software and PL8Remote, wait for a while (about 10 seconds), then run PL8 Remote again. It would be able to connect to PL8 charger and show its presets.

In the case that Expresso saw "No signal". Close both PL8 software and PL8 Remote, wait for a while, then run the PL8 software. Do you see PL8 software properly connect to PL8 charger? Are you able to start charging on PL8 software?
User avatar
snaker
 
Posts: 997
Joined: 23 May 2015, 10:45
Location: Vietnam

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby expresso » 22 Feb 2021, 01:53

hi snaker - yes i am able to use the PL8 -

i was not able to charge with the App - i refreshed and says no signal to pl8 i believe was the error
Quickie P222se - 60Ah ADD ON
Quickie S646se - 150Ah LifePo4
Quickie P220 - Indoor Chair
Bounder Plus - 180Ah LifePo4
expresso
 
Posts: 9631
Joined: 10 May 2010, 03:17
Location: NYC - NY

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby snaker » 22 Feb 2021, 02:03

If you are able start charging on PL8 software but not on PL8Remote, it might be fault on PL8Remote :oops:

My dad is cleaning the chair. About 30 minutes later, after he finishes I with check PL8Remote with usb cable. Before, I mainly charge with BT.
User avatar
snaker
 
Posts: 997
Joined: 23 May 2015, 10:45
Location: Vietnam

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby expresso » 22 Feb 2021, 02:12

ok i will try again when i have to charge next time -

what does that mean ?
Quickie P222se - 60Ah ADD ON
Quickie S646se - 150Ah LifePo4
Quickie P220 - Indoor Chair
Bounder Plus - 180Ah LifePo4
expresso
 
Posts: 9631
Joined: 10 May 2010, 03:17
Location: NYC - NY

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby snaker » 22 Feb 2021, 02:24

I just tested the PL8Remote app with my usb cable, it worked fine. I will take a video of the test.
User avatar
snaker
 
Posts: 997
Joined: 23 May 2015, 10:45
Location: Vietnam

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby expresso » 22 Feb 2021, 02:41

ok show me - step by step - maybe i am doing something wrong - it did an update today when i went to use it - i installed it and then tried to use it
Quickie P222se - 60Ah ADD ON
Quickie S646se - 150Ah LifePo4
Quickie P220 - Indoor Chair
Bounder Plus - 180Ah LifePo4
expresso
 
Posts: 9631
Joined: 10 May 2010, 03:17
Location: NYC - NY

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby snaker » 22 Feb 2021, 02:44

I tried to monitor/discharge/charge the pack on PL8Remote with usb cable. All worked fine.

Here is the video
https://youtu.be/045PEAsF0zs
User avatar
snaker
 
Posts: 997
Joined: 23 May 2015, 10:45
Location: Vietnam

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby expresso » 22 Feb 2021, 03:50

i just tried it again - to discharge a little - i stopped the pL8 - closed it - - i have the balance cables connected only at the moment -

from Pl8 to pack - do i need to connect the power cables also for it to work ?

says no signal - i dont get any presets to show up - from the drop down box -

now i got the presets to show - but this is what i get
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Quickie P222se - 60Ah ADD ON
Quickie S646se - 150Ah LifePo4
Quickie P220 - Indoor Chair
Bounder Plus - 180Ah LifePo4
expresso
 
Posts: 9631
Joined: 10 May 2010, 03:17
Location: NYC - NY

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby corey84 » 22 Feb 2021, 04:36

what the heck is a "dump load"?????
corey84
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 29 Oct 2020, 03:21

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby expresso » 22 Feb 2021, 05:12

:D just a load on the battery - it discharges it faster - so for instance on larger packs - if you want to discharge them down - using the pl8 would take 4 days non stop with a 200ah pack

if you connect a dump load - depending how the size you get - 1000 watts - 2000 watts - it can discharge the pack much faster

i can discharge my 200ah pack in about 6 hours - compared to 4 days with the pl8 - its needed and very useful -

i just used it on my pack to discharge about 80ah out of it - since it will sit for a while before install it - if not - in a mouth - i will recharge it to keep them balanced - and discharge again some to store another month or so

you can keep them sitting longer - but it will affect the recharge at the balance end - it depends how bad - on the cells themselves

it just allows you to discharge at a much faster rate -
Quickie P222se - 60Ah ADD ON
Quickie S646se - 150Ah LifePo4
Quickie P220 - Indoor Chair
Bounder Plus - 180Ah LifePo4
expresso
 
Posts: 9631
Joined: 10 May 2010, 03:17
Location: NYC - NY

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby snaker » 22 Feb 2021, 08:47

expresso wrote:i just tried it again - to discharge a little - i stopped the pL8 - closed it - - i have the balance cables connected only at the moment -

from Pl8 to pack - do i need to connect the power cables also for it to work ?

says no signal - i dont get any presets to show up - from the drop down box -

now i got the presets to show - but this is what i get


To make the app properly connect to the charger, you do not need to connect the charger to the pack neither through power cable or balance cable.

"No signal" means the app could not read data from the charger. Or maybe it was due to weak connectivity.

Can you try these:
- Change another laptop if you have another one.
- Plug usb cable to another usb socket. If the laptop has both usb 2.0 and 3.0, use the 2.0 (the black one).
- Make sure the charger is connected to the power supply and turned on.
Then run the PL8 Remote app. Does it shows presets in the dropdown box? Does the text "No signal" disappears?
User avatar
snaker
 
Posts: 997
Joined: 23 May 2015, 10:45
Location: Vietnam

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby Burgerman » 22 Feb 2021, 09:37

Be careful with corey84. He may not be here long... https://scamalytics.com/ip/154.29.131.188 and i think is a troll or spammer and I watch carefully. :clap
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54275
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby steves1977uk » 22 Feb 2021, 12:36

snaker wrote:I am here :mrgreen:

I am sure it works with both BT and usb cable. At least on my PC and 2 laptops.

In the case that Steve saw the COM port but was not able to connect. It was probably that the PL8 Software was connecting to PL8 through the usb cable, therefore PL8Remote could not. So close PL8 software and PL8Remote, wait for a while (about 10 seconds), then run PL8 Remote again. It would be able to connect to PL8 charger and show its presets.


Figured it out...

PL8R1.jpg


You have to allow the PL8 Remote to access the USB Serial port, then it detects the COM port and sees the PL8. :thumbup: Will try it on my next charge.

Steve
User avatar
steves1977uk
 
Posts: 3318
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 21:47
Location: Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, UK

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby rickystyx » 22 Feb 2021, 16:08

If I get a bluetooth thingy from Woody what needs to be done to install it please?
ottobock b400 150Ah lifepo4
Swiss-trac manual chair add on with 30Ah Lifepo4 (want more 15Ah headway cells )
Meyra Optimus (PRIME)2 150Ah lifepo4 :0)
rickystyx
 
Posts: 256
Joined: 27 Jun 2019, 08:44
Location: Morecambe uk

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby expresso » 22 Feb 2021, 17:21

Burgerman wrote:Be careful with corey84. He may not be here long... https://scamalytics.com/ip/154.29.131.188 and i think is a troll or spammer and I watch carefully. :clap



good job :thumbup:
Quickie P222se - 60Ah ADD ON
Quickie S646se - 150Ah LifePo4
Quickie P220 - Indoor Chair
Bounder Plus - 180Ah LifePo4
expresso
 
Posts: 9631
Joined: 10 May 2010, 03:17
Location: NYC - NY

Re: Dump Load RIP

Postby expresso » 22 Feb 2021, 17:25

@snaker - i dont have another laptop - but who knows - i may need one - mines keeps dimming the screen on its own - some sort of issue maybe - i just changed the battery - it was doing it before then -

anyway - i can try the other usb - i am not sure which is the 3.0 - so maybe that was it - PSU was on - charger goes on auto with PSU -

it gets the com port - then i cant read the presets - sometimes it gets the presets - but then i cant charge monitor etc, - i get that same error - no signal -

i try it again next time i need to charge something
Quickie P222se - 60Ah ADD ON
Quickie S646se - 150Ah LifePo4
Quickie P220 - Indoor Chair
Bounder Plus - 180Ah LifePo4
expresso
 
Posts: 9631
Joined: 10 May 2010, 03:17
Location: NYC - NY

PreviousNext

Return to Everything Powerchair

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: duke1, FishMan, Google [Bot], MarkFox, shirley_hkg and 44 guests

 

  eXTReMe Tracker