Page 2 of 8

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 04 May 2015, 15:13
by Vitolds
I told Woody that his scheme is not suitable.
that is not so simple, he did not believe me.
Woody can begin to trust Russian guy :lol:

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 04 May 2015, 15:48
by woodygb
IF the controller uses TTL logic and the Dynamic software and hardware is using Serial logic ..then it could be a TTL signal logic to Serial signal logic convertor.

Signal differences.
https://www.sparkfun.com/tutorials/215

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 04 May 2015, 18:05
by anubis801
I doubt it's TTl logic. The voltage on the programming pin on the XLR connector is around 9V. The inputs/outputs of the DWIZ-ADAPT on the Hyrose connector are RS232 levels. I hooked up a logic analyzer on the serial port to sniff some data and the wizard software does send some signal to the RTS prior to sending a packet to the TX line. Also the data coming out of tx does not match the HEX code on the wizard software and sometimes does not make any sense but I am not a software wizard myself so it may be just me. I must admit I don't know much of data sniffing techniques and this was one of my early attempts.

I will try a straight voltage level shifter to interface the controller with a FTDI FT-232 serial adapter.
I've not given up yet!

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 04 May 2015, 18:22
by Vitolds
you have large photo

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 04 May 2015, 19:07
by anubis801
You've got PM!

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 08 Feb 2016, 02:42
by anubis801
I finally solved my problem.
I had to re-invent the whole programming interface (the orange adapter).
Forget the easy circuit with the diode and a resistor. The wizard software doesn't like local ECHO on the serial RX and it puts inverted RS-232 signals (NOT regular RS-232 comunication) while the controller doesn't.
After a few days of analysing signals from the serial port to the controller and some serious experimenting with electronics (with the occasional magic smoke), I finally figured it out. I have designed my own programming interface for the Rhyno 2 controller.

Success at last!

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 12 Feb 2016, 05:32
by ex-Gooserider
GREAT to hear! please tell us details!

ex-Gooserider

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 18 Feb 2016, 04:41
by anubis801
Well since it is my own design and not a copy or imitation of the original I guess It is OK to share it with you.
Tested on a Rhyno2 controller.

You can order the PCB here.
http://dirtypcbs.com/view.php?share=16657&accesskey=

Just a word of caution!
NOT for medical use!
This board is EXPERIMENTAL and I designed it for the love of electronics and robots building hobby.
This is NOT a Dynamics product, nor am I in any way related with the company.
Use at your own risk!

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 18 Feb 2016, 17:52
by Irving
anubis801 wrote:Well since it is my own design and not a copy or imitation of the original I guess It is OK to share it with you.
Tested on a Rhyno2 controller.

You can order the PCB here.
http://dirtypcbs.com/view.php?share=16657&accesskey=

Just a word of caution!
NOT for medical use!
This board is EXPERIMENTAL and I designed it for the love of electronics and robots building hobby.
This is NOT a Dynamics product, nor am I in any way related with the company.
Use at your own risk!


How about a circuit diagram?

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 18 Feb 2016, 19:16
by anubis801
Schematic

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 18 Feb 2016, 19:27
by LROBBINS
Note that this is just the adapter that goes between the "programming plug" of a DX programming cable (i.e. RS232) and those controllers/modules that use the charging port for programming. You still need a dongle and USB to serial adapter if your computer doesn't have an RS232 port. Ciao, Lenny

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 18 Feb 2016, 20:55
by anubis801
This is correct! You must have the Security dongle to program your controller.
Without the security dongle to unlock/license the "original" Wizard software program, you can only read the status report from your controller with this circuit.
In theory the dongle is just a license key which the software looks for through a software hardware driver.

Well, that is if you want to keep it legal :roll:
Not really a problem for Russia and China :twisted:

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 09 Mar 2016, 16:17
by anubis801
Finished!
I got 10 PCB's left over, if anyone is interested in a bare PCB send me a PM.

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 22 Mar 2016, 12:58
by woodygb
Communication success with RHINO controller. ....NO dongle ..NO DWIZ-ADAPT ...NO board ...comms via cheap CH340 chip USB -SERIAL Adapter

e.g. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NEW-USB2-0-TO ... SwuAVWx9ih

This adapter MUST use a win chip head CH340/341 or HL340 NOT a Prolific chip.

You will see 340 embossed on the RS232 end of the cable.
Image
Wizard snapshot.
rhino.png

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 22 Mar 2016, 15:17
by terry2
Fantastic news :)

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 22 Mar 2016, 15:34
by woodygb
NOTE:- The Rhino scooter controller.... unlike wheelchair controllers/joysticks ....doesn't need the DWIZ-ADAPT as it has one built in to it.

I'll probably ask you to test two options on the wheelchair version...one will be using your DWIZ-ADAPT and the above Rhino solution...the other a guess at what the signal mode is that is coming via the charging port and without the DWIZ-ADAPT.

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 22 Mar 2016, 15:36
by terry2
woodygb wrote:NOTE:- The Rhino scooter controller.... unlike wheelchair controllers/joysticks ....doesn't need the DWIZ-ADAPT as it has one built in to it.

I'll probably ask you to test two options on the wheelchair version.



I'm all for testing :D

Was your OS win 98 or win 7?

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 22 Mar 2016, 15:40
by woodygb
WIN 10 64 bit.

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 22 Mar 2016, 15:41
by terry2
Thanks Woody :)

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 22 Mar 2016, 17:04
by LROBBINS
Note that some Dynamic systems do need the DWIZ-ADAPT and some do not. The one Rachi used to have on her chair - the DX-SCR = SpecialtyControlsRemote had a separate mini-DIN style programming port connected by a straight through cable to a DB9 (RS232) plug. Of course, one still needs a USB to serial adapter if your computer doesn't have an old-fashioned COM port, so I'm glad you've found one that works well. I kept a clunky old Toshiba laptop just to use for the Wizard. Wonder if the FTDI USB to RS232 adapter I use with the Roboteq would also work?
Ciao,
Lenny

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 22 Mar 2016, 17:14
by woodygb
Give it whirl Lenny it can't harm.
dynamic hirose interface rhino.jpg


BTW ..Terry has a DWIZ-ADAPT ....which he has currently lent me ...perhaps in a week or 2 we can find a simple solution to the DWIZ-ADAPT.

P.S. Does anyone know the EXACT designation of the Hirose plug/socket?

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 22 Mar 2016, 17:18
by LROBBINS
Can't. No longer have a DX system installed, and I've lent my (parallel) OEM Dongle and (RS232) programming cable to Irving. I don't know if he's intending to use a computer with a com port, or has to use a USB-RS232 adapter. Ciao, Lenny

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 31 Mar 2016, 15:51
by terry2
The cable with the dwiz is working on my Puma 40 :D
Nice one woody.

I see my speed is set too 90%! will I have more SPEED if I crank it to 100% :D

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 31 Mar 2016, 16:15
by Burgerman
Why bother with 90?

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 31 Mar 2016, 17:07
by rover220
terry2 wrote:The cable with the dwiz is working on my Puma 40 :D
Nice one woody.

I see my speed is set too 90%! will I have more SPEED if I crank it to 100% :D


Do you have a hasp key to enable you to make any changes?

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 31 Mar 2016, 17:08
by terry2
Burgerman wrote:Why bother with 90?



That was my thinking. I don't think 10% will make much difference. My batteries will be install tomoz.
So I will see after charging.

I also noticed there are 5 profiles to play with. My chair only shows 4?

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 31 Mar 2016, 17:15
by rover220
terry2 wrote:
Burgerman wrote:Why bother with 90?



That was my thinking. I don't think 10% will make much difference. My batteries will be install tomoz.
So I will see after charging.

I also noticed there are 5 profiles to play with. My chair only shows 4?


Look in the joystick options and you'll see the max number of drive profiles. Change that to 5 and you'll have 5 available.

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 31 Mar 2016, 17:16
by terry2
rover220 wrote:
terry2 wrote:
Burgerman wrote:Why bother with 90?



That was my thinking. I don't think 10% will make much difference. My batteries will be install tomoz.
So I will see after charging.

I also noticed there are 5 profiles to play with. My chair only shows 4?


Look in the joystick options and you'll see the max number of drive profiles. Change that to 5 and you'll have 5 available.



Nice bit of info there. Thank you so much ;)

I'll try and find a manual on it be for messing

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 31 Mar 2016, 17:20
by rover220
Do you have the hasp key/dongle?

Re: DWIZ-ADAPT

PostPosted: 31 Mar 2016, 17:27
by terry2
rover220 wrote:Do you have the hasp key/dongle?


No woody done his wizardry on my dwiz and a serial cable.