FWD vs MWD vs RWD - smoothest ride?

Power wheelchair board for REAL info!

POWERCHAIR MENU! www.wheelchairdriver.com/powerchair-stuff.htm

FWD vs MWD vs RWD - smoothest ride?

Postby horsound » 29 Dec 2019, 12:09

Hi everyone,

I've been using a Invacare Bora electric wheelchair for the past 10 years, but I'm now searching for a more comfortable powered wheelchair, and I'm trying to educate myself on this subject. In particular, I'm trying to find the type of chair that allows the smoothest ride. I need to use the wheelchair indoor and outdoor, and the sidewalks and roads where I live are quite bumpy, and unfortunately I'm very sensible to bumps due to weak back and neck muscles.

I know each wheelchair model is different, but at least generally speaking is there a specific chair type that is clearly more comfortable? I guess my question is should I choose a front-wheel, mid-wheel, or rear-wheel powered wheelchair? Which one is the smoothest when going over an obstacle?

I've been reading a lot of articles, and also Burgerman's advice here (viewtopic.php?f=2&t=5624), besides many other threads, and initially I was leaning towards mid wheel drive, due to seeing some YouTube videos claiming those chairs were extremely comfortable, but I think the general consensus here is they aren't. Which makes sense, since most (all?) don't have suspension on the middle wheel.

I don't have full control regarding which chair to choose, that's mostly dependent of my doctor and available budget, but I'm hoping to at least try to push him in the right direction. There are only a few brands available in my country - Invacare, Permobil, and Sunrise Quickie - I think the main candidates are the Invacare Storm 4, the Permobil F5, and the Quickie Q700 or Q500 - and hopefully when the time comes I'll be able to know very well all the possibilities and steer the doctor into the right chair.