Hi from Brazil

You dont have to, but its interesting!

MAIN WEBSITE: www.wheelchairdriver.com

Hi from Brazil

Postby lucas » 02 Jul 2012, 15:54

hi folks,

what a great website and forum!

My name is Lucas,28, I am an economist. My father Helvio, 59, is a mechanical engineer who them moved to programing and operations research. For 30 yrs he has MS, which progressively limited his movements. We are Brazilian, he lives in São Paulo and I now leave in Brasília. Any one else from Brazil around here?

We come from a family of "home inventors", my grand father was a carpenter/welder with a small repair shop. My father as a kid loved taking things apart, designing model airplanes, etc. In college he and some friends created engines, a car, and full sized 4 passengers plane. I´m an economist, working with applied statistics/econometrics and interested in physics/engineering.

As movement became more difficult my father (and more recently I) invented/adapted a series of gadgets to facilitate his life. In 1994 he purchased his first electric scooter, an "Amigo" (don´t know the model), which by then was the only option in Brasil.
He now owns 2 scooters (heavily modified) and and two standing powerchairs from Brasilian manufacturers
- one from "Freedom" (http://www.freedom.ind.br/content/produtos/index.php?stIdioma=&boInterna=true&cat=2&linhaid=31&produtoid=13), which has this complicated electronics, and broke soon
- one from "Jaguaribe"(http://www.baxmannjaguaribe.com.br/Produtos.aspx) which is simple and more durable,
has any one heard of these Brazilian manufacturers? (I don´t think that they export)

Over the years my father (and more recently I)invented several things to facilitate his life including: modifications on the arms of the scooters, batteries, home made car lifts, a hydraulic elevator to get him into the pool, a standing scooter, electric bed (and a portable version of it). Our latest project was a rear entry lowered floor modification of a Peugeot Partner.