Greetings from Zurich

You dont have to, but its interesting!

MAIN WEBSITE: www.wheelchairdriver.com

Greetings from Zurich

Postby miro » 15 Feb 2016, 01:37

Hello folks,

My name is Miro and I'm a student from Zurich.
You might know the project I've worked on for the last one and a half years.
We built the stair climbing wheelchair Scalevo https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3lb_8nmy90c.
We posted here before, but never introduced ourselfs properly to the community.
I have been lurking here for quite some time now and we got a lot of valuable information from the forum!
Thanks for that! :)
miro

Re: Greetings from Zurich

Postby Burgerman » 15 Feb 2016, 02:52

I don't know what to say. Or where to start. These keep cropping up year after year.

First of all - if any "add on" it makes the normal use of the chair any worse by even a small amount than its already blown out. Life is too short. We are busy active people. Worse means heavier, less range, slower to react, more complex, less manoeuvrable, longer, heavier, less ground clearance, less sharp in ANY shape or form, less responsive, or whatever then its already failed.

Question 1. What on earth makes you thing that stair climbing is of any importance to us? Did you ask? It interesting ONLY if it has no negative affects at all on the day to day use of a chair, A minor interest at best. But sadly it does detract from *everything*.

Question 2. Why does it steer like its got a ton of mass, and way too much turn acceleration delay and turn deceleration delay? As seen on your vids?

Question 3. Why is it so slow? Both moving "normally", and stair climbing. Nobody has that much time to spare. We need some ZAP! If it takes longer to go up a stair or step than an able bodied user, or requires you to transition like a "transformer" and become a spectacle, then its WAY, WAY TOO SLOW! and its embarrassing,.. So we wouldn't bother doing it. There's always a better way.