new UK user

You dont have to, but its interesting!

MAIN WEBSITE: www.wheelchairdriver.com

new UK user

Postby arikimau » 31 Oct 2017, 13:46

Hi
I am in the UK and am a new user. So I am pleased to have found this site and hope it will be mutually fruitful.

At Easter I was fine since when i have developed a rapidly degenerating neurological problem that has resulted in muscle wasting in both thighs and right hand and is still progressing.
Given the rapidity of the situation I am having to look into things I have no experience of and plan ahead (for the worst).
I live in the UK and have applied to join the motability scheme which faciltates a 3 year lease of some new vehicles. If I am accepted I will need to consider hand control, swivel seat and power chair transport options, however, that is for the future.

Each Christmas/New year I spend time with my family in Chile, where steps and rougher terrain are more commonplace. I have therefore bought a 4x4 power chair to take with me and use on my return (indoor and outdoor).
The power chair has a (presumably standard) gel lead acid battery - it is currently in the workshop having a seat adapted.
Use in Chile will be different insofar as I will be travelling a great deal so I am wondering about the battery and have started reading about liFePO4 batteries/systems. Originally I was wondering if it was better to carry a second similar battery in the car and in the event I run out of power then switch batteries. Seems more cost effective perhaps, not sure how easy to swap batteries mind. Is it practical to carry a second battery on the rear of the powerchair, for example ?
Early days, but I hope o get in a bit or practice before I leave in early December.

I could keep a diary/video record of using the powerchair in Chile if anyone would find it useful seeing it operating in rural / country town locations.