Activate Windows?

If you want to say something that doesent fit anywhere else!
MAIN WEBSITE: http://www.wheelchairdriver.com

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Burgerman » 25 Feb 2019, 22:33

I just tell the registery not to run the service... And there it is gone!

However...
It could also be other things.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46007
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Scooterman » 25 Feb 2019, 23:43

steves1977uk wrote:Easiest way... https://www.sordum.org/9480/defender-control-v1-4/

Of course there's other ways like you and me know BM :ugeek: But I'm trying to keep it simple and straightforward for SM :thumbup:

Steve

Thanks Steve I'll try it in the morning. Simple is good, me's like simple :D
User avatar
Scooterman
 
Posts: 1979
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 10:11
Location: Southern England

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Scooterman » 26 Feb 2019, 00:59

Hi Steve,

I've abandoned being a lithium geek for this evening and am now in full computer geek mode...

I've downloaded and run defender control V.14 after spending 10 mins working out where the download link was on the webpage... :lol:

But if I permanently disable windows defender so activation works, might I not get a computer virus? :ambulance :problem:
User avatar
Scooterman
 
Posts: 1979
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 10:11
Location: Southern England

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Scooterman » 26 Feb 2019, 01:13

UPDATE!!!

Steve, I just re-read what you said, 'disable temoporarily' ;)

I've done that and re-ran that software, re-activated defender, and done a couple of restarts, and no watermark :thumbup:

I'll check again in the morning, I am quietly confident :joint
User avatar
Scooterman
 
Posts: 1979
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 10:11
Location: Southern England

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Burgerman » 26 Feb 2019, 01:49

You will only get a virus if you run or allow to run a file that has a virus. With a decent browser, configured correctly, and a little understanding and a brain, you are not at any risk. As such I do things the other way around.

I enable the windows built in anti virus about once a month, and do a full scan. Also several other antivirus and adware etc programs to check everything is clean. Normally everything is off. I will TEMPORARILY enable it if I download anything or if someone sends me any kind of document or exe file etc. To be sure. In the last 20 years I have NEVER had a virus or trogen or any other problem. Its more of a user problem!

Why dont I have it enabled?
It wastes computer power, battery time, and it slows things down. Especially as it insists on running a partial file system scan just after boot up when I didnt tell it to do so. And a bunch of other things I would prefer it not to be interfering with. Plus I have always got a full clean, tested disk backup. And if running a suspect file or program or download I use an alternate TEST DISK thats a clone of my normal boot disk. So on my PC I have 4 boot disks. On my laptop, I have 2.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46007
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Scooterman » 26 Feb 2019, 02:09

Understood BM :thumbup:

And lookie here!!!
Capture.PNG


I didn't extract and run that key generator properly first time. Because although the watermark had disappeared, windows activation settings still said windows not activated.

But windows settings says it activated now and I can personalise settings :dance . I have tried to attach a snipping of the activation page but can't work out how to resize the image for this site :problem:

On hindsight I don't think it was W. defender causing the problem. I think it was more a case of; garbage in, garbage out. Or more correctly nothing in, nothing out. :lol:
User avatar
Scooterman
 
Posts: 1979
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 10:11
Location: Southern England

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Scooterman » 26 Feb 2019, 02:15

.
Attachments
0DE86C99-C9C5-4B5E-B7E6-561FD5A0DEA8.jpeg
User avatar
Scooterman
 
Posts: 1979
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 10:11
Location: Southern England

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Burgerman » 26 Feb 2019, 02:20

You can see it here too...

And windows version etc.
Attachments
Image1.gif
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46007
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Burgerman » 26 Feb 2019, 02:24

For future reference.
Press the PrtScr button to copy the full screen to your clipboard.
Open any image editor or viewer to then click paste... Or paste as new image or whatever.
And save it as a whatever.gif file.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46007
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Burgerman » 26 Feb 2019, 02:43

http://www.burgerman.info/

Also worksin case anyone cares. For at least 15 years? :joint
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46007
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Scooterman » 26 Feb 2019, 08:12

Burgerman wrote:For future reference.
Open any image editor or viewer.

Where do I find one of these? :problem:

PS It's still working Steve :thumbup:

Burgerman wrote:http://www.burgerman.info/

Also worksin case anyone cares. For at least 15 years? :joint

Good website that, I've read it several times, although not so much now as my knowledge has advanced czy

Background colour should be yellow though :fencing
User avatar
Scooterman
 
Posts: 1979
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 10:11
Location: Southern England

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Burgerman » 26 Feb 2019, 09:51

Image editor?
Theres hundreds. Some free some expensive. Some simple. Some not. Like photoshop. Which is also free if you know how. And theres a stupidly useless free one built into windows... Called MSpaint.

Open "run" type MSpaint. open a dos box and dothe same. Or search the menu in accessories, or look in the windows\system32 folder. And add a shortcut to your desktop.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46007
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby steves1977uk » 26 Feb 2019, 11:49

I go commando style (ie. strip out Defender altogether) and Windows can't nag about 'dodgy' files ;) Any file I'm unsure about I test on another PC/OS disk. But 99.9% of the time I use common sense and never had a virus in 25+ years.

Steve
User avatar
steves1977uk
 
Posts: 2459
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 21:47
Location: Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, UK

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Scooterman » 27 Feb 2019, 08:13

Steve - It's much better now because I can change personal settings.

Is the activation permanent? I think I remember reading in this thread that it might expire and revert to watermark after 6 months?
User avatar
Scooterman
 
Posts: 1979
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 10:11
Location: Southern England

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Burgerman » 27 Feb 2019, 08:24

Depends what that crack actually does. Some have a few options. And they re run the activator automatically every few days so you aways have 6 months to go. Some use volume licence keys, and good to go forever theoretically. Some need to be rerun manually every 6 month or sooner.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46007
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Scooterman » 27 Feb 2019, 08:45

Burgerman wrote:Depends what that crack actually does. Some have a few options. And they re run the activator automatically every few days so you aways have 6 months to go. Some use volume licence keys, and good to go forever theoretically. Some need to be rerun manually every 6 month or sooner.

Noted :thumbup:

I better get it out if the trash :lol:
User avatar
Scooterman
 
Posts: 1979
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 10:11
Location: Southern England

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Scooterman » 13 Aug 2019, 13:45

Aw shucks! I've started getting this pop up.

I'm Confused.com?

I've forgotten what I did last time czy


Image
User avatar
Scooterman
 
Posts: 1979
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 10:11
Location: Southern England

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Burgerman » 13 Aug 2019, 14:52

Some people are incompatible with computers.

The answer is "it depends"...

And that you should run the same file again, to add another 180 days. You can configure that manually every 5 months, to automatically do this via the scheduler. Mine runs once every 2 months. For a day, intermitently every 2 hours, and then stops. As I instructed it to do. So that you never need see that screen.

Dont install a crack that sets that up for you as those run every day and eat up CPU cycles and your computer will run slow.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46007
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby steves1977uk » 13 Aug 2019, 20:56

SM, try the attached Win10 activator, this one renews itself via the task scheduler. Extract and run the cmd file as administrator. :thumbup:

Steve
Attachments
w10act.zip
(33.5 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
User avatar
steves1977uk
 
Posts: 2459
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 21:47
Location: Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, UK

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Gnomatic » 13 Aug 2019, 22:47

Although not free, another option is just to buy an inexpensive Windows 10 Pro key off ebay. Click on the 'Change Product Key' link pictured in the first post of this thread, and copy/paste the new key into the box that comes up, and click the Activate button on screen. I've used ebay keys like the one linked below on many Widows installs I've done for friends etc. Never had a problem with any of them.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Microsoft-Wind ... Sw35pcyfoK
Gnomatic
 
Posts: 1525
Joined: 24 Aug 2012, 17:18
Location: Ohio USA

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Burgerman » 14 Aug 2019, 02:43

SM, try the attached Win10 activator, this one renews itself via the task scheduler. Extract and run the cmd file as administrator.


Thats a bad idea...

Which is why I said:

Dont install a crack that sets a scheduler that run every day and eat up CPU cycles and your computer will run slow.


And CPU will sit at a 3 or 5 % high percentage at idle banghead

If you did this, go to the task scheduler, find the entry and delete it... Or disable it. And run it only after you get a 180 day warning. Then disable it again. Or it starts running every logon, and then conflicts with the "system interupts" all day long.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46007
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Scooterman » 14 Aug 2019, 08:53

Thank you guys sorry for the late reply, people to see, places to go NOT!!! :lol:

Gnomatic - the eBay option is surprisingly cheap I will look into that, but I don't want to throw good money after bad.

Although it's not expensive my macbook screen has started playing up again, the screen intermittently starts scrolling and last time apple fixed for free even though it was out of warranty. But it now 6 years old and I will ask them about the display but they probably won't repair it for free this time so I might end up binning it and buying a cheaper windows laptop about 13" cos that is the size of my macbook and I like that size. :computer

Thanks for the cmd file Steve but I might do what BM suggests as my macbook has 2.4 Ghz CPU and not a lot of RAM 4Gb compared to modern machines. And it's running bootcamp so every GHz and Gb is needed!

EDIT: Plus when I do get a windows machine you guys can tell me how best to set it up :thumbup: (for free, no 0870 numbers!!! Lol)
User avatar
Scooterman
 
Posts: 1979
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 10:11
Location: Southern England

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby steves1977uk » 14 Aug 2019, 09:29

SM, try the attached Win10 activator, this one renews itself via the task scheduler. Extract and run the cmd file as administrator.


Thats a bad idea...

Which is why I said:

Dont install a crack that sets a scheduler that run every day and eat up CPU cycles and your computer will run slow.


And CPU will sit at a 3 or 5 % high percentage at idle banghead

If you did this, go to the task scheduler, find the entry and delete it... Or disable it. And run it only after you get a 180 day warning. Then disable it again. Or it starts running every logon, and then conflicts with the "system interupts" all day long.


Ah, but this one doesn't eat CPU cycles BM, it runs once every week and just renews to 180 days... Try it on a test OS disk!

Steve
User avatar
steves1977uk
 
Posts: 2459
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 21:47
Location: Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, UK

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Burgerman » 14 Aug 2019, 10:06

Just read the xml and the bat file in notepad.

One of the things it does is restart the software ptotection platform. I went to a lot of trouble to get rid of that from the registry and 3 places in the scheduler. It causes high CPU usage with all the windows cracks. So it now never runs. Its not required on LTSC. You see the CPU use more on a weedy laptop but it causes issues.

It also runs a small script all the time you are using windows. That causes high CPU ofaround 2 to 5 percent on slow machines, that causes high levels of interupt errors slowing the machine. So not convinced!

If bored later will install windows 10 ltsc and office 2019, on a virtual machine on my laptop and test...


Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-16"?>
<Task version="1.3" xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/windows/2004/02/mit/task">
  <RegistrationInfo>
    <Source>Microsoft Corporation</Source>
    <Author>Microsoft Corporation</Author>
    <Version>1.0</Version>
    <Description>This task restarts the Software Protection Platform service when user logon occurs</Description>
    <URI>\Microsoft\Windows\SoftwareProtectionPlatform\SvcTrigger</URI>
    <SecurityDescriptor>D:P(A;;FA;;;SY)(A;;FA;;;BA)(A;;FRFW;;;S-1-5-80-123231216-2592883651-3715271367-3753151631-4175906628)(A;;FR;;;S-1-5-4)</SecurityDescriptor>
  </RegistrationInfo>
  <Triggers>
    <LogonTrigger>
      <Enabled>true</Enabled>
    </LogonTrigger>
  </Triggers>
  <Principals>
    <Principal id="InteractiveUser">
      <GroupId>S-1-5-4</GroupId>
      <RunLevel>LeastPrivilege</RunLevel>
    </Principal>
  </Principals>
  <Settings>
    <MultipleInstancesPolicy>IgnoreNew</MultipleInstancesPolicy>
    <DisallowStartIfOnBatteries>false</DisallowStartIfOnBatteries>
    <StopIfGoingOnBatteries>false</StopIfGoingOnBatteries>
    <AllowHardTerminate>false</AllowHardTerminate>
    <StartWhenAvailable>false</StartWhenAvailable>
    <RunOnlyIfNetworkAvailable>false</RunOnlyIfNetworkAvailable>
    <IdleSettings>
      <StopOnIdleEnd>true</StopOnIdleEnd>
      <RestartOnIdle>false</RestartOnIdle>
    </IdleSettings>
    <AllowStartOnDemand>true</AllowStartOnDemand>
    <Enabled>true</Enabled>
    <Hidden>true</Hidden>
    <RunOnlyIfIdle>false</RunOnlyIfIdle>
    <DisallowStartOnRemoteAppSession>false</DisallowStartOnRemoteAppSession>
    <UseUnifiedSchedulingEngine>true</UseUnifiedSchedulingEngine>
    <WakeToRun>false</WakeToRun>
    <ExecutionTimeLimit>PT0S</ExecutionTimeLimit>
    <Priority>7</Priority>
    <RestartOnFailure>
      <Interval>PT1M</Interval>
      <Count>3</Count>
    </RestartOnFailure>
  </Settings>
  <Actions Context="InteractiveUser">
    <ComHandler>
      <ClassId>{B1AEBB5D-EAD9-4476-B375-9C3ED9F32AFC}</ClassId>
      <Data>logon</Data>
    </ComHandler>
  </Actions>
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46007
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Scooterman » 17 Aug 2019, 17:03

steves1977uk wrote:SM, try the attached Win10 activator, this one renews itself via the task scheduler. Extract and run the cmd file as administrator. :thumbup:

Steve

That seems to have done the trick Steve cheers

It was really easy.

I only use the windows partition for mob equip programming so if the widget file slows down my cpu a tad I'm not bothered. And Steve's fix seems to have worked well and was really easy to do for someone like me.
User avatar
Scooterman
 
Posts: 1979
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 10:11
Location: Southern England

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Burgerman » 17 Aug 2019, 17:32

I only use the windows partition for mob equip programming


Why? Get rid of the useless one that only has 1 mouse button etc and only use the windows one. Why would you also need the other one that wont run anything as well?
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 46007
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby steves1977uk » 17 Aug 2019, 17:56

Scooterman wrote:That seems to have done the trick Steve cheers

It was really easy.

I only use the windows partition for mob equip programming so if the widget file slows down my cpu a tad I'm not bothered. And Steve's fix seems to have worked well and was really easy to do for someone like me.


This one only runs if Windows loses it's activation or if it detects Office 2019 Pro, as it will activate that too! :thumbup:

Steve
User avatar
steves1977uk
 
Posts: 2459
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 21:47
Location: Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, UK

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby Scooterman » 17 Aug 2019, 18:10

Cheers Steve I really appreciate your help there’s no way I could do it by myself :thumbup:
User avatar
Scooterman
 
Posts: 1979
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 10:11
Location: Southern England

Re: Activate Windows?

Postby steves1977uk » 17 Aug 2019, 18:30

Glad to be of service SM! cheers

Steve
User avatar
steves1977uk
 
Posts: 2459
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 21:47
Location: Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, UK

Previous

Return to Anything

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests

 

  eXTReMe Tracker