Tripods

If you want to say something that doesent fit anywhere else!
MAIN WEBSITE: http://www.wheelchairdriver.com

Tripods

Postby Burgerman » 03 Apr 2024, 11:47

As a disabled amateur photographer I need tripods! Why? Lon exposures, focus stacking, movies that do not shake or wobble with long lenses, time lapse movies, etc.

The problem is that in a wheelchair its very hard to reach to one side in order to hold a caera in one (correct) position while tightening a clamp on the ypical ball head. Since I can only get one hand to it and need three! The camera and lens combination can be 2 or 3kg. So enter the GEAR HEAD tripod. Its low geared and uses a heavy damping grease. So super controlled. And easy to adjust.

This is a damped super smooth tripod head on a carbon fibre base that is adjustable in 3 independent 3 D directions. No wobble no freeplay, and all done via three large screw handles. Not cheap but being disabled never is.

It allows me to move the camera in exact positions with one hand and 2 fingers. And the camera clamp is just as easy, with an arca swiss type connection. Works great for wheelchair photography. Should anyone else be interested.

Lowest height about 2 feet. Highest height around 5' feet 6 inches. So perfect for a seated wheelchair user. Or with seat elevated. I also have a bar that sits on top and moves the camera to one side or the other by around 300mm Not shown here. So the camera can sit over my lap at eye height or a little lower/higher as required.
Attachments
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
Burgerman
Site Admin

Re: Tripods

Postby Burgerman » 03 Apr 2024, 12:06

Cheap chinesium obviously. But great quality! And not that cheap! :fencing