DJI Phantom 4 Pro

If you want to say something that doesent fit anywhere else!
MAIN WEBSITE: http://www.wheelchairdriver.com

DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Rye » 13 Aug 2018, 22:17

I bought a Phantom 4 Pro yesterday after having several people recommend it. I built a homebuild hexa about 5 years ago and connected my own FPV. It wasn't great quality, but....it was a ton better than the image transmission on the P4P. I've updated firmware and have everything fully charged, but I still only see the top 1/8 of the picture (sometimes). It doesn't matter how far I am from the drone. I tried sitting 2ft from it and still nothing worth a damn. Anyone having issues with the DJI Go app?
Permobil C350/C300, Quickie P-222
User avatar
Rye
 
Posts: 415
Joined: 04 Sep 2013, 16:30
Location: US

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Burgerman » 13 Aug 2018, 22:49

No idea about those ready built things. Mines built from parts. Works just great. Are you on the right video channel.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41693
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Rye » 13 Aug 2018, 23:25

I prefer my DIY FPV to this DJI FPV. The drone flies just fine and sometimes I do get a full image, but it's very inconsistent. Everything is linked up and I checked the channels...everything appears all-good. It may be the recent firmware version perhaps. What program do you use to fly? I've read about a few third-party quadcoptor apps.
Permobil C350/C300, Quickie P-222
User avatar
Rye
 
Posts: 415
Joined: 04 Sep 2013, 16:30
Location: US

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Burgerman » 13 Aug 2018, 23:48

Dont get me wrong. I am using a DJI controller, with mag compass/gps etc. But thats all the DJI stuff. My quad is a modified TBS discovery from black sheep, and my RC reciever is a 9 channel JR with 3 sattelite recievers, and a 2.5W watt boosted transmitter on 2.4ghs with DSMX channel hopping. Easy 2 to 4 miles over a city. The return Video signal is 5.8ghz with circular polarised antenna, and the video reciever is a two antenna auto switching thingy with its own 10 inch screen. This has a circular polarased antenna as well as a high gain one aimed at whetever long range target I am flying to,

This feeds another lower frequency TX of low power that feeds my laptop or my goggles. Its 4s and goes fast...
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41693
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Rye » 14 Aug 2018, 01:09

Yeah my DIY used DJI electronics. I just realized that the image feed is just fine when getting ready for take-off, but once in the air it goes to shit. There's some kind of electrical interference.
Permobil C350/C300, Quickie P-222
User avatar
Rye
 
Posts: 415
Joined: 04 Sep 2013, 16:30
Location: US

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Burgerman » 14 Aug 2018, 01:32

Dont those things do everything backwards. As in 5.8 for control and 2.4 for video?

You likely need 2.4 helical antennas. Either way they did that to get good range n video! Kind of not working.

My 600mA video transmitter with helical antennas, is great with a diversity reciever, and a couple of omni and long range high gain antennas to 3 to 4 miles.

Maybe a faulty antenna. Or a big wifi booster somewhere close? If so it shouldnt really be a problem, I fly illegally right across the town.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41693
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby firehopper » 14 Aug 2018, 23:13

I dont have a dji, I had a homebuilt one from heli parts and stuff based on a simple board from aeroquad. but I sold that one and ended up with a yuneec typhoon h, it works really well, and I can plug a hdmi skyview fpv head display into it.. I posted a video on another sub forum on here I think.. never tried a dji.
firehopper
 
Posts: 130
Joined: 25 Feb 2018, 21:13
Location: kutztown, PA USA

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Rye » 15 Aug 2018, 03:43

I was looking at the Typhoon also, but many reviews suggested it wasn't great for mapping. The remote is huge too. How's the weight? I thought it might be something I'd drop and break.
Permobil C350/C300, Quickie P-222
User avatar
Rye
 
Posts: 415
Joined: 04 Sep 2013, 16:30
Location: US

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Burgerman » 15 Aug 2018, 11:47

Mine is heavy, all magnesium case and booster, isnt light. But its sat on my knee so weighs nothing!

http://www.wheelchairdriver.com/12x.htm

But at least 4x the range with 32x the power output.

In a world where everyone has wifi, alarms, door cams, baby monitors, etc then theres at least 4 lots of wifi comming from every house, and often also from phones and cars! Thousnds of sources of signal blocking and interference. So for good faultless control at a few miles across a city you NEED a louder gun, a brighter light, or a bigger gun.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41693
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Rye » 15 Aug 2018, 15:02

What I'd really like to do is create an indoor ground station with larger controls. I use my drones to monitor crops so I'd really like to send it to my big screen tv and through my computer for large data storage. Image quality has been an issue too. Every (4k) image I take is extremely grainy with the Phantom 4 Pro. On a high note, though, I had little to no live image transmission problems yesterday evening.
Permobil C350/C300, Quickie P-222
User avatar
Rye
 
Posts: 415
Joined: 04 Sep 2013, 16:30
Location: US

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby firehopper » 15 Aug 2018, 21:22

Rye wrote:I was looking at the Typhoon also, but many reviews suggested it wasn't great for mapping. The remote is huge too. How's the weight? I thought it might be something I'd drop and break.



it is big, not really too heavy, at least for me. the drone itself is heavier.. only flys 15 mins or so per battery. dont know about the dji..
firehopper
 
Posts: 130
Joined: 25 Feb 2018, 21:13
Location: kutztown, PA USA

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Rye » 16 Aug 2018, 02:14

The P4P v2.0 will fly for almost 30min. It's relatively light. The v2.0 uses Ocusync to automatically find the best channel settings with the least interference. Is the Typhoon pretty much charge and fly right out of the box?
Permobil C350/C300, Quickie P-222
User avatar
Rye
 
Posts: 415
Joined: 04 Sep 2013, 16:30
Location: US

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby firehopper » 16 Aug 2018, 18:30

Rye wrote:The P4P v2.0 will fly for almost 30min. It's relatively light. The v2.0 uses Ocusync to automatically find the best channel settings with the least interference. Is the Typhoon pretty much charge and fly right out of the box?


pretty much, its a easy to fly drone, can do a lot of stuff, once you update the firmware, you can fly higher than 390 foot if you want to, but need to connect the drone to your pc to run the configure software to do it.
firehopper
 
Posts: 130
Joined: 25 Feb 2018, 21:13
Location: kutztown, PA USA

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Burgerman » 16 Aug 2018, 18:35

You need to do that regardless to properly configure everything. 390 Feet? Some legal requirement?

Is that above sea or land level. I mean if its sea, and you take off from 380 feet its only going to go 10 feet high!

Not to mention theres bridges and hills and hundreds of those windmills that are higher (510 feet bridge) around here! https://www.google.com/search?q=humber+ ... 8&dpr=1.25

Mines set to 1000 feet. Thats plenty high as you can run out of power before getting down safely if you are not careful.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41693
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Rye » 16 Aug 2018, 19:24

I've been taking steady aerial photos of my crops at 1600ft (over my property). I haven't had any battery issues. I'll photograph about 200 acres from that height then Home it and still have around 30% remaining (roughly 20min when being used heavy). I usually charge no less than 30%. It's a great drone (besides the feed cutting in and out). DJI just sneaked in a new system (Occusync) for version 2.0. As soon as Pix4d update their software to include the P4P v2.0, I'm going completely unmanned monitoring. Here's a downgraded sample:
Attachments
wheelchairdriver upload.JPG
Permobil C350/C300, Quickie P-222
User avatar
Rye
 
Posts: 415
Joined: 04 Sep 2013, 16:30
Location: US

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Rye » 16 Aug 2018, 21:18

400ft is from the ground and you can go higher under certain conditions. I've found that any photos under 1300ft are't very useful for my purposes.
Permobil C350/C300, Quickie P-222
User avatar
Rye
 
Posts: 415
Joined: 04 Sep 2013, 16:30
Location: US

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Burgerman » 16 Aug 2018, 23:21

What you really need is a DSLR for quality, with wide lens so you can see a huge area per photo. And then a massive multirotor like film crews use to carry 4kg of camera... And many ££££££
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41693
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby firehopper » 17 Aug 2018, 19:28

Burgerman wrote:You need to do that regardless to properly configure everything. 390 Feet? Some legal requirement?

Is that above sea or land level. I mean if its sea, and you take off from 380 feet its only going to go 10 feet high!

Not to mention theres bridges and hills and hundreds of those windmills that are higher (510 feet bridge) around here! https://www.google.com/search?q=humber+ ... 8&dpr=1.25

Mines set to 1000 feet. Thats plenty high as you can run out of power before getting down safely if you are not careful.


yes the faa want all radio controlled uav's to stay under 400 feet, rc airplanes and drones. plus they want you to fly LOS, Line of sight, so cant fly out of your eyesight.
and yes its 390 foot AGL or above ground level
firehopper
 
Posts: 130
Joined: 25 Feb 2018, 21:13
Location: kutztown, PA USA

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Burgerman » 17 Aug 2018, 21:13

We have that stupid rule too. However...

400 feet per second, is just 272mph. I fly delta jets, both pulse jets and turbines. Not the overweight sluggish scale ones but ones that go some. They are 250 to 300 mph and speed doeent drop much when pointed up.

If I do a 250mph 50 foot pass along the runway, and then climb out vertically, then I am head height to 400 feet IN a little over ONE SECOND!

And you need 5 to 600 feet to do a sensible radius turn at that speed. So staying below say 400 feet is all but an impossibility.

I fly stuff like this. Although this guy is 40% faster!
He climbing at 700+ feet per second at full power about halfway in the vid.


youtu.be/YVNIWuLs_7E


youtu.be/YajmqdW9dos

How would you keep that under 400 feet?
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41693
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby firehopper » 18 Aug 2018, 11:54

Burgerman wrote:We have that stupid rule too. However...

400 feet per second, is just 272mph. I fly delta jets, both pulse jets and turbines. Not the overweight sluggish scale ones but ones that go some. They are 250 to 300 mph and speed doeent drop much when pointed up.

If I do a 250mph 50 foot pass along the runway, and then climb out vertically, then I am head height to 400 feet IN a little over ONE SECOND!

And you need 5 to 600 feet to do a sensible radius turn at that speed. So staying below say 400 feet is all but an impossibility.

I fly stuff like this. Although this guy is 40% faster!
He climbing at 700+ feet per second at full power about halfway in the vid.


youtu.be/YVNIWuLs_7E


youtu.be/YajmqdW9dos

How would you keep that under 400 feet?



heck in the usa under AMA, you cant even fly a turbine powered jet model without having to get a special waiver to be allowed to fly it. I'd love to just have one of these motors, but cant afford them. let alone the plane or heli to put it in. a pulse jet engine is affordable from hobbyking. Around $100 or so. but turbine ones are around $800 for a base model. the airframe can run $5K too.. oh well.. some day.. I do have a EDF foam jet model. and a pair of EDF motors for spares..
firehopper
 
Posts: 130
Joined: 25 Feb 2018, 21:13
Location: kutztown, PA USA

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Burgerman » 18 Aug 2018, 13:38

Hobby king pulse jets are hopeless. They dont work and fuel system wont keep running and only 4 lb thrust.

The real pulse jets are usually hand made, as mine are. But 12 to 18 lb thrust, 2.5 diameter tail pipe and using a couple of blood or urine bags, for fuel, no bubbles allowed, kerosine and propylene oxide mix for fuel, and a 60psi pumpand fuel injector to create a fuel plane inside the motor behind the reed valves.
They are loud, messy, and often run bad! Theres lots around.

Turbines are as common as muck around here. The planes stay clean, tons of power. Even fitted as power pods to gliders are now common. Even on cheap foam planes! Tiny turbine on here.


youtu.be/oam_l13nlOI
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41693
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Burgerman » 18 Aug 2018, 13:47

Heres a hotliner strong glider. Tested to 40G.

With a really tiny turbine on board... But not for long!


youtu.be/orGca6G84U8
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41693
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby firehopper » 18 Aug 2018, 14:28

Burgerman wrote:Heres a hotliner strong glider. Tested to 40G.

With a really tiny turbine on board... But not for long!


youtu.be/orGca6G84U8




nice, not as common over here, due to like I said, the waiver requirement and the general cost of such. edf's are a bit more common, I have 2 a edf foam jet, and a edf foam glider.
firehopper
 
Posts: 130
Joined: 25 Feb 2018, 21:13
Location: kutztown, PA USA

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Rye » 26 Sep 2018, 09:24

Very interesting note. I decided to fly my drone at night over a truck that was stuck at the back of my farm and there was absolutely no image transmission problems. No loss of picture and no lag. Plus the transmitter had perfect reception in an area/distance that has weak signal during the day. Solar flare distortion?
Permobil C350/C300, Quickie P-222
User avatar
Rye
 
Posts: 415
Joined: 04 Sep 2013, 16:30
Location: US

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Burgerman » 26 Sep 2018, 09:56

Dont think solar has any 2.4 or 5.8 encoded signals, they dont get through as encoded frequencies? More likely that your drone automatically picks a video channel, or your wifi does, and they were not overlapping? Dunno. Still not sure how your system works. I do know that on ebay, there are some illegal 2 watt 2.4 and 5.8 boosters! Little white things. Easy to boost both the video signal and the control signal as long as you can work out which is which on your device.

These get you from a radio output of 50 to 100mA (0.1W) to 2000mA (2W) in one easy step. 20X more power!

Heres a 2.4 one,

Image

And a 5.8ghz one...

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/For-FPV-Raci ... 0005.m1851
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41693
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Rye » 26 Sep 2018, 14:19

Could I purchase a rooftop version of the 2.4 and 5.8 booster/antenna and just run it to the controller in some form or fashion? I assume the antennas coming off the remote are just regular old antennas that could be swapped with any same frequency antennas.
Permobil C350/C300, Quickie P-222
User avatar
Rye
 
Posts: 415
Joined: 04 Sep 2013, 16:30
Location: US

Re: DJI Phantom 4 Pro

Postby Burgerman » 26 Sep 2018, 19:20

Yes and yes.

You need to figure out which frequencies your setup is using for what first, and what connectors its using inside.

The reason these radio and video systems have interference issues or range issues is that your FCC regulates the free bands like 5.8 and 2.4 ghz to a very low power level. Meaning that to get any range out of the system needs either very high gain (and narrow beam like a car headlamp) antennas, or run more power...

The quad transmits back at low power. So you lose the image. The controller sends out a low power signal, so you run out of range. Or suffer interference/noise easily.

These antennas work TONS better the higher you get them. So the quad sending the image has no problem. But your recieving antenna is too low.
Likewise a hand held transmitter used for control has low power and is at ground level. So its antenna, and its booster need to be high up if possible.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41693
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom


Return to Anything

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

 

  eXTReMe Tracker