Drive Prism Sport Scooter.

If you want to say something that doesent fit anywhere else!
MAIN WEBSITE: http://www.wheelchairdriver.com

Drive Prism Sport Scooter.

Postby WheelieBear » 11 Mar 2019, 21:16

Hi
I have a Drive Prism Sport Scooter.
I was told by Drive Devilbiss that I need to get a 'motor crown' for it as the brushes are built into this and non-removable

It costs about £20 but I wondered if it would be hard to fit?

Any advice would be helpful.
Thanks.
Paul
WheelieBear

Re: Drive Prism Sport Scooter.

Postby Burgerman » 12 Mar 2019, 02:09

Hard is relative. I would not find it hard. If you struggle with these sorts of things you might. You will need to examine the motor commutator, for damage. And smooth it or clean it with fine abrasive paper by spinning it somehow with a driill or lathe or something if its not clean and perfect. Or it wont last.
Burgerman
Site Admin

Postby WheelieBear » 12 Mar 2019, 11:36

Thanks for your reply.

I'm not a mechanic or an engineer of that type, but I used to be an Electronic Engineer, so I think it shouldn't be too difficult a job to change the 'motor crown'.
However, the only thing I have to clean up the commutator is sandpaper. I have no access to a lathe or power drill, do you think that may be sufficient?
I'm guessing that I only have to remove the carbon and any dirt accumulated on the commutator down to the copper??

Thanks.
WheelieBear

Postby Burgerman » 12 Mar 2019, 12:02

It may be fine. Depends on the reason you are swapping the brushes. If its because they wore so badly that you are having driving problems then the commutator may be burned. If its because they are worn but still working it may be fine as it is.

If it looks like this with a film of oxides/carbon and otherwise perfect dont touch it. This is what you are hoping for!

Burgerman
Site Admin

Postby Burgerman » 12 Mar 2019, 12:05