Van Os Excel Airide

Powerchair or Mobility Equipment Reviews! Start a new thread with DESCRIPTIVE TITLE for each new review.

WEBSITE REVIEWS HERE (Scroll Down): www.wheelchairdriver.com/powerchair-stuff.htm

Van Os Excel Airide

Postby greybeard » 09 Oct 2014, 16:02

Hi guys,

http://www.vanosmedical.nl/en/collectio ... 182/ctx-28

At nearly 72 I'm just starting out on my first dealings with the NHS Wheelchair Service as my shoulders no longer function without pain and I don't have unlimited funds to buy a top of the range powerchair. While I'm waiting for my first meeting with the WCS, I'm spending my time doing as much research as I can. One that caught my eye was the Airide range. I've had a good look through the posts but apart from an occasional mention in passing, the Excel Airide doesn't feature much.

I know they are relatively under powered and they will never come up to the standards of the BMs that Burgerman and others build, but I'm an old fella who just needs something to toodle around the house, garden and village and countryside with my dogs that has large air tyres and soft suspension. These chairs seem to tick those boxes. They also claim to be 6mph which is rather better than the 4mph that the WCS is likely to provide. ( I don't think I could persuade the exceptions committee that I had a pressing need for more speed. ). I like the simplicity of the design but not having seen one in the flesh don't know about build quality etc.

I would very much appreciate your thoughts on this range of chairs. The Van Os site doesn't give much information but all three models are shown on the Careco.com site.

Thanks
greybeard

Re: Van Os Excel Airide

Postby greybeard » 09 Oct 2014, 16:15

Careco.co.uk - not .com.
greybeard

Postby Burgerman » 09 Oct 2014, 17:51

I think they are likely to be as good as any production chair. They are all much the same.
Burgerman
Site Admin

Postby ex-Gooserider » 14 Oct 2014, 07:47