VR2 controller

Power wheelchair board for REAL info!

POWERCHAIR MENU! www.wheelchairdriver.com/powerchair-stuff.htm

VR2 controller

Postby snaker » 29 Jan 2020, 03:09

I want to upgrade my current 50A VR2 controller to 70A. I found one on ebay.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Fur-Elektrorol ... fresh=true

But the 70A one on ebay has the joystick socket different from my current 50A one. It has an array of 4 holes in a single line while mine is in a round. But mine also has a yellow connector in the middle of the cable like in the picture below. Can I directly connect this connector to the 70A VR2 controller above?

vr2.jpg
User avatar
snaker
 
Posts: 1131
Joined: 23 May 2015, 10:45
Location: Vietnam

Re: VR2 controller

Postby Burgerman » 29 Jan 2020, 06:48

I must say that I cant answer the question. Because I run away from VR2 altogether. So know nothing about them. Why not get an r-net power module? And any R-net joystick. Far more programmable and flexible. More options. Simple bus cables. And the motor and battery connectors will fit.

And more power.

The 80, 90A power modules can be found really cheap.

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8857
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 60057
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: VR2 controller

Postby snaker » 29 Jan 2020, 08:32

I cannot afford a r-net oem programmer. Its wires might not suit my motors sockets. And its price plus joystick plus shipping cost is over my capacity. And that 70A vr2 barely fits all my needs.
User avatar
snaker
 
Posts: 1131
Joined: 23 May 2015, 10:45
Location: Vietnam

Re: VR2 controller

Postby Burgerman » 29 Jan 2020, 09:41

But it was only a suggestion. Lower powered R-Net stuff is pretty cheap on ebay uk. But you would need to buy a joystick as well. So that would make it more expensive.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 60057
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: VR2 controller

Postby woodygb » 29 Jan 2020, 09:42

snaker wrote:I want to upgrade my current 50A VR2 controller to 70A. I found one on ebay.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Fur-Elektrorol ... fresh=true

But the 70A one on ebay has the joystick socket different from my current 50A one. It has an array of 4 holes in a single line while mine is in a round. But mine also has a yellow connector in the middle of the cable like in the picture below. Can I directly connect this connector to the 70A VR2 controller above?

vr2.jpg


I would be fairly confident that the answer is Yes.
An expert is a person who has made all the mistakes that can be made in a very narrow field.
Niels Bohr
User avatar
woodygb
 
Posts: 6860
Joined: 12 Mar 2011, 18:45
Location: Bedford UK

Re: VR2 controller

Postby snaker » 29 Jan 2020, 10:02

Thanks woodygb
User avatar
snaker
 
Posts: 1131
Joined: 23 May 2015, 10:45
Location: Vietnam

Re: VR2 controller

Postby rickystyx » 29 Jan 2020, 10:06

I think you have a very old VR2 there - the cable with the connector in the middle is an adapter so if you split your cable you will find that the plug from the joystick will now fit direct into the newer socket. you may need to put some bigger wiring on things to take 70A
ottobock b400 150Ah lifepo4
Swiss-trac manual chair add on with 30Ah Lifepo4 (want more 15Ah headway cells )
Meyra Optimus (PRIME)2 150Ah lifepo4 :0)
rickystyx
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 27 Jun 2019, 08:44
Location: Morecambe uk

Re: VR2 controller

Postby rover220 » 29 Jan 2020, 10:06

no, the yellow connectors do not fit the grey sockets and vice versa.
rover220
 
Posts: 1742
Joined: 10 Dec 2013, 19:34
Location: West Mids, UK

Re: VR2 controller

Postby woodygb » 29 Jan 2020, 10:08

rover220 wrote:no, the yellow connectors do not fit the grey sockets and vice versa.


I stand corrected...Is there an adaptor from the yellow to grey?

OR

Is there a VR2 Controller version that accepts the Yellow plug?
An expert is a person who has made all the mistakes that can be made in a very narrow field.
Niels Bohr
User avatar
woodygb
 
Posts: 6860
Joined: 12 Mar 2011, 18:45
Location: Bedford UK

Re: VR2 controller

Postby rover220 » 29 Jan 2020, 10:08

vr2 modules normally look like this https://cinep.com.br/produto/kit-comand ... torizadas/

i think what you have posted with yellow connector is something built for pride from memory like a gc3
rover220
 
Posts: 1742
Joined: 10 Dec 2013, 19:34
Location: West Mids, UK

Re: VR2 controller

Postby rickystyx » 29 Jan 2020, 10:09

Ah - in that case it would need a newer joystick or a different adapter cable
ottobock b400 150Ah lifepo4
Swiss-trac manual chair add on with 30Ah Lifepo4 (want more 15Ah headway cells )
Meyra Optimus (PRIME)2 150Ah lifepo4 :0)
rickystyx
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 27 Jun 2019, 08:44
Location: Morecambe uk

Re: VR2 controller

Postby Burgerman » 29 Jan 2020, 10:26

At which point r-net to me makes more sense to me. Cheap r-net joystick and an 80 or 90A module.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 60057
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: VR2 controller

Postby snaker » 26 Feb 2020, 09:23

I bought that 70A VR2 above and it just arrived. The yellow connector on the joystick cable matches the controller. Unfortunately, the power connector and also the 2 motor connectors do not match the sockets on the controller. It is strange as these connectors are VR2, they should match VR2 controller. Is there anyway that I could try to overcome this problem?
Attachments
1.JPG
2.jpg
User avatar
snaker
 
Posts: 1131
Joined: 23 May 2015, 10:45
Location: Vietnam

Re: VR2 controller

Postby shirley_hkg » 26 Feb 2020, 13:37


That looks familiar with my previous Quickie 646SE.
Attachments
20091204153033a996f5a8.jpg
shirley_hkg
 
Posts: 3534
Joined: 31 Dec 2010, 13:42

Re: VR2 controller

Postby steves1977uk » 26 Feb 2020, 14:05

snaker wrote:I bought that 70A VR2 above and it just arrived. The yellow connector on the joystick cable matches the controller. Unfortunately, the power connector and also the 2 motor connectors do not match the sockets on the controller. It is strange as these connectors are VR2, they should match VR2 controller. Is there anyway that I could try to overcome this problem?


That power connector looks like a custom OEM part for your chair, I assume the motor plugs have the same shell shape where the 4 prongs are. Normally modern generic PG connectors fit the Pilot+, R-Net and VR2.

Steve
User avatar
steves1977uk
 
Posts: 4181
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 21:47
Location: Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, UK

Re: VR2 controller

Postby rickystyx » 26 Feb 2020, 17:05

Looks right to me are you sure it doesn't fit? The hook has to fit into the slot but my connector looks exactly the same and it goes on fine
ottobock b400 150Ah lifepo4
Swiss-trac manual chair add on with 30Ah Lifepo4 (want more 15Ah headway cells )
Meyra Optimus (PRIME)2 150Ah lifepo4 :0)
rickystyx
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 27 Jun 2019, 08:44
Location: Morecambe uk

Re: VR2 controller

Postby snaker » 27 Feb 2020, 03:26

Yes, they do not match. The sockets in 2 controllers have different sizes.

The old 50A one: power socket size is 30mm x 10mm, motor socket size is 18mm x 13mm

The new 70A one: power socket size is 27mm x 10mm, motor socket size is 27mm x 17mm
Attachments
3.JPG
User avatar
snaker
 
Posts: 1131
Joined: 23 May 2015, 10:45
Location: Vietnam

Re: VR2 controller

Postby Burgerman » 27 Feb 2020, 09:52

Well you will need more bits. A battery loom. Or blade/spade terminals. And make adapters for motors. Or swap plugs. You can use simple blade terminals and heatshrink cheaply.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 60057
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: VR2 controller

Postby Dan » 27 Feb 2020, 15:17

I think you can buy the plugs. Don't know what the sizes they are.
https://www.ebay.com/i/254200415126?chn ... gKXnPD_BwE
I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude.
Dan
 
Posts: 492
Joined: 10 Nov 2011, 03:03
Location: Northern Ireland

Re: VR2 controller

Postby steves1977uk » 27 Feb 2020, 16:04

That connector kit looks like it's for the 50A VR2 Dan, which won't fit the 70A version which snaker wants to upgrade to.

Maybe the 90A VR2 plugs fit... https://www.ebay.com/itm/PG-VR2-90Amp-P ... 4200415127 Although it's still cheaper to buy direct from Curtiss-Wright.

Steve
User avatar
steves1977uk
 
Posts: 4181
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 21:47
Location: Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, UK

Re: VR2 controller

Postby Furio » 27 Feb 2020, 17:04

HELP.

My friend's "Karma"brand, UK make wheelchair using VR2 50A controller, exactly like Snaker's, stopped working hanged . On power on,the two rows of leds on the joystick start flashing continuously. Any insights into the nature of the problem is appreciated. Thanks.
Furio
 
Posts: 159
Joined: 24 Dec 2011, 18:10
Location: India

Re: VR2 controller

Postby woodygb » 27 Feb 2020, 18:28

An expert is a person who has made all the mistakes that can be made in a very narrow field.
Niels Bohr
User avatar
woodygb
 
Posts: 6860
Joined: 12 Mar 2011, 18:45
Location: Bedford UK

Re: VR2 controller

Postby snaker » 28 Feb 2020, 01:28

Spade terminals look weak and have no lock, no waterproof :cussing I am considering to buy and solder 'true' VR2 connectors to the power and motor cables. Is soldering vr2 connectors complicated? And Is it safe to do that way (I mean manually making vr2 connectors without professional tools)?

@steves1977uk: Do you have the Curtiss-Wright's contact email? I like to buy VR2 connectors directly from them. I like cheap :mrgreen:
User avatar
snaker
 
Posts: 1131
Joined: 23 May 2015, 10:45
Location: Vietnam

Re: VR2 controller

Postby steves1977uk » 28 Feb 2020, 12:01

See PM snaker. :thumbup:

Steve
User avatar
steves1977uk
 
Posts: 4181
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 21:47
Location: Wells next the Sea, Norfolk, UK

Re: VR2 controller

Postby Burgerman » 28 Feb 2020, 12:59

You will find that the same connectors you think are weak, are just the same as the ones inside those plastic shells...
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 60057
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: VR2 controller

Postby shirley_hkg » 28 Feb 2020, 14:04


I'd use blade terminal and soldering to the output too, if possible. Together , it will be able to handle more current than that of the factory plug does. Hot glue to keep moisture away.
shirley_hkg
 
Posts: 3534
Joined: 31 Dec 2010, 13:42

Re: VR2 controller

Postby martin007 » 28 Feb 2020, 21:49

Brochure PDF.
User avatar
martin007
 
Posts: 2152
Joined: 03 Jun 2015, 23:55
Location: Spain

Re: VR2 controller

Postby martin007 » 28 Feb 2020, 22:00

User avatar
martin007
 
Posts: 2152
Joined: 03 Jun 2015, 23:55
Location: Spain

Re: VR2 controller

Postby snaker » 15 May 2022, 02:25

I finally got a full set of VR2 connectors. My dad is making the cables, he will finish soon.

Next, I will have to move programming data from my current 50A VR2 to the new 70A VR2. I have a few questions.
1. Are they compatible to each other?
2. Do I only need to read data from the old one to a file and then write it to the new one?
3. Is there anything I have to caution before doing that?
4. If the current break voltage in the new 70A VR2 is different, is there any problem when plugging it to the chair (motors)?
User avatar
snaker
 
Posts: 1131
Joined: 23 May 2015, 10:45
Location: Vietnam

Re: VR2 controller

Postby Burgerman » 15 May 2022, 10:22

Next, I will have to move programming data from my current 50A VR2 to the new 70A VR2. I have a few questions.
1. Are they compatible to each other?
Hopefully. I expect so. Never tried. Take a copy from BOTH the 50 and 70A settings. Just in case.

2. Do I only need to read data from the old one to a file and then write it to the new one?
Again hopefully.

3. Is there anything I have to caution before doing that?
No but you will need to set some things differently. IF it wont allow you to swap the settings profile then just transfer them manually.

4. If the current break voltage in the new 70A VR2 is different, is there any problem when plugging it to the chair (motors)?
Check the existing brake voltage and be sure that this is the same.
Check the motor load compensation, and be sure this data is also transfered correctly and that it too reads the same as its set to now.
You will need to increase the max normal current and max boost currents to say 60 and 70A repectively.
User avatar
Burgerman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 60057
Joined: 27 May 2008, 21:24
Location: United Kingdom

Next

Return to Everything Powerchair

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SweetBearCub and 4 guests

 

  eXTReMe Tracker