A Warning for Users of the Permobil Corpus 500

Powerchair or Mobility Equipment Reviews! Start a new thread with DESCRIPTIVE TITLE for each new review.

WEBSITE REVIEWS HERE (Scroll Down): www.wheelchairdriver.com/powerchair-stuff.htm

A Warning for Users of the Permobil Corpus 500

Postby Ironside » 13 Oct 2017, 17:52

I have been using Permobil wheelchairs for several years now and I really do like them. However, something happened last week that has dented my confidence in the wheelchairs. To cut a long story short, the back of my wheelchair completely collapsed leaving me right back with my head about foot above the ground. Basically, there are two brackets that support the backrest. One of them has the power rod attached to it. The other one just seems to move on a pivot. The one with the power rod completely snapped which left the wheelchair with absolutely no support.

I'm having to stay in bed because I don't have a spare chair and the new bracket does not arrive until today. Permobil will be coming out on Monday morning to fix the chair. It's taken a week for this part to arrive. I've made my feelings very clear to Permobil that I am not happy. It's just by the grace of God that this happened whilst I was at home. Next day I had planned to go fishing which would have meant me driving my Mercedes sprinter van. Can you imagine the outcome if this back had collapsed whilst I was driving?

I'm not an engineer but I don't really know much about metals. However, I note that in order to get the strength you need you need to use the right type of metal. A lot of weight and pressure is being put on these two brackets, for one of them to snap is just not acceptable. Apparently, the brackets are made from cast steel (apparently made in Japan, but don't hold me to that) I told a friend of mine who makes motorcycle exhausts and the first thing he said was they should be made out of forged steel in order to get the strength you need.